Technical Committees

International Standards especially ISO, International Telecommunication Union (ITU-T), Codex Alimentarius and International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) standards and other national standards are widely used in Namibia at national, regional and local government levels by trade organisations, purchasers, consumers, testing laboratories and other interested parties.

Since the use of standards generally reflect the best experience of industry, researchers, consumers and regulators worldwide, and cover the common needs in a variety of countries, standards constitute one of the important basis for the removal of technical barriers to trade.

The NSI has established 16 Technical Committees (TCs), with 8 sub-committees, to assist with the preparation, adoption, and publication of standards in accordance with the World Trade Oraganisation requirements.

TC 1: Technical Committee on Renewable Energy
TC 2: Technical Committee on ISO 9000:2005 Quality Management Systems (QMS);
TC 3: Technical Committee on ISO 22000: 2005 Food Safety Management System (FSMS);
TC 4: Technical Committee on National Electrotechnical Commission (NaEC)
TC 5: Technical Committee on ISO 14000:2004 Environmental Management System (EMS);
TC 6: Technical Committee on Construction, Cement and Concrete Technologies;
TC 7: Technical Committee on Halaal Products;
TC 8: Technical Committee on Occupational Health and Safety Management;
TC 9: Technical Committee on Metrology
TC 10: Roads Construction, Vehicle and Road Safety
TC 11: Technical Committee on Hospitality Infrastructure and Tourism
TC 12:Technical Committee on Design of dry sanitation facilities and systems in rural areas and informal Settlements
Subcommittee 1: Sub Committee for the Development and Adoption of Namibian Standards on the Requirement for Above fuel Storage Tanks.
Sub Committee 2: Sub Committee on Meat and Agricultural Products

Standards Development